As Stuart Smalley said in the skit from SNL:  I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough and Doggone It, People Like Me. 🙂

I will be the first to admit to you that I am not the world’s most perfect yogi.  My postures are as perfect as I can make them in the here and the now, but they are not textbook perfect.  But that is not the point of practicing the asanas (physical postures).

Sure I have goals in my practice and in my life, but yoga is meant to make you feel happy with yourself where you are at right now.  Yoga is not meant to make you not feel good enough.  The asanas were invented by ancient yogis so that the body could be still during meditation.  They were not invented so that people could focus on perfecting them, and not move past that point.  Yoga is meant to be a tool for the evolution of your Spirit.

As a recovering Type A, I will be honest and confess that I used to put a lot of worth into how well I could do a posture, and I would beat myself up over not being able to accomplish one.  But what good did that do me?  Nothing except perpetuate a belief that I always had to be judging my past and anticipating my future.  Furthermore, it placed my focus on the exterior, instead of what is really important about a yoga practice.

The beauty of yoga, its sheer brilliant wisdom, is to focus your mind on the present.  The present is a present, after all.  It is a gift from the Divine.  When we dismiss the present moment with thoughts of the past, or worry over the outcome of the future, we are not at peace.  Peace, as we say in yoga, occurs when we live in the moment.

So, today, I invite you to dance in the moment.  To make love to the present.  To marry laughter and joy, and, yes, even tears and sorrow.  I encourage you to try, at least, if only for a moment.  It may feel difficult at first, but it becomes second nature with practice.

The good news is that even if the present moment is less than ideal, every moment in your life is an opportunity for a new beginning.  You can change your outlook as often as the second hand ticks on a clock.  It just takes practice.  So practice living in the moment.  You won’t regret it!

Namaste,

~Amber

*Author’s Note:  If you are not familiar with the SNL skit, I recommend clicking here for a good chuckle.

Comments on: "I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough and Doggone It, People Like Me" (6)

  1. sarah booth said:

    so nice amber 🙂

  2. Christine Davies said:

    Well said! Words to live by!!

  3. Cee Cee said:

    Wonderful words of wisdom, Amber. And so true! Thank you!

Comments? Suggestions?

