Bigger Than My Body

Yesterday, I did a photo shoot for my business cards and flyers. I am going to share with you the photos, but I also would like to share with you a lesson I learned, since I use every day as a chance to grow.

I was reviewing the photos and critiquing not only my yoga form, but also my body shape: Wouldn’t I love a little lipo there?, I said to myself. I blogged about it before, but it is always good to reiterate that the yoga postures, or asanas, do not have to be perfect for them to be beneficial. More importantly, the human body does not have to be perfect for us to live a wonderful and meaningful life.

This re-realization encouraged me to share a little bit of my story with you. I was born with a skin condition where my skin can easily break out into blisters, and then heal as unsightly scabs. When I have breakouts, it looks like I was mauled by a dog. It can be painful, and when I was a child, it was even worse. I grew up riding around in a wheelchair. When I was 16, l discovered that diet, exercise and positive thinking all help me maintain healthier skin. My skin is not perfect. It will probably never be perfect, but it is as clear as I can maintain it.

The point of me sharing this with you is that I have struggled with vanity my whole life. The lesson that I keep learning is that it does not, and should not, matter what my body looks like. What is important is how I act, how I care, how I love, and how I share. Is my body as strong and healthy as I can keep it? Do I have an empowered sense of self? Am I good to people? Do people enjoy spending time with me? Generally speaking, I can say with confidence that the answers are yes.

Today I would like to remind you to love who you are as a person more than what you look like. You are way more valuable than the reflection in the mirror, or the number on the scale. With that, I will share with you my pictures from my photo shoot. But please know that I know that who I am on the inside far exceeds what these pictures represent.

Namaste,

~Amber

“I’m bigger than my body gives me credit for.” ~John Mayer

Comments on: "Bigger Than My Body" (13)

  1. Christine Davies said:

    Beautiful girl…Beautiful pictures!!

    • Thank you, Christine! I missed y’all yesterday. I thought I’d get to see you today, and then I remembered. Next week, we’ll have to have an extra special class! πŸ™‚

  2. I am SO proud of you!

  3. Sharla Williams-Hunt said:

    The empowerment of rising above the outer, and loving the inner, is unspeakably overwhelming. I’m proud of you for the love and radiance that pours out of you! You’re postures are beautiful!

  4. The Wheel picture is STUNNING, and I LOVE the floaties!! Super cool!1
    Thanks for the inspiring words!

  5. caroloe said:

    I am reading you every morning to get started on a positive day. You are the best! Carole

  6. Thank you for sharing this, friend. I think we all struggle with this, in one way or another. It’s very hard to overcome pride, and because yoga is a physical practice, it can be hard not to compare our bodies to others. But just like yoga, it gets easier with practice πŸ˜‰

    And your pictures are beautiful. You look happy.

  7. […] have to treat it well, and take care of it. But, we do not have to let it define us completely (see Bigger Than My Body for […]

Comments? Suggestions?

