Daddy’s Little Girl

I spent Independence Day at my parents’ house. We had a family friend there, Carole, who mentioned that my dad always focuses on the bright side. He remarked “Well, the alternative just isn’t much fun.”

Yes, friends, my eternal optimism is genetic.  Regardless, my dad’s statement is 100% true. I had my share of moodiness when I was younger, and with confidence I can tell you that it was not any fun. I can also proclaim that being around someone who is in a bad mood or has mood swings is not a barrel of laughs either. No one enjoys being around a sour puss. The opposite is also true: people are attracted to well-adjusted people.  

If you ever find yourself down in the dumps, or moody for really no good reason, there are tricks you can use to pull yourself out of that bad mood.  They are called mood shifters, and I will give you some examples.

  • Play a song that you love and sing it loudly.
  • Watch a few funny skits on YouTube.
  • Think lovely thoughts about someone important to you.
  • Daydream about the life that you want, or, better yet, write a story about it.
  • Turn up the music and dance!
  • Give your pet some love. Pets uplift people’s spirits.
  • Do something you have procrastinated doing. Once you complete this task, you will feel very accomplished and proud of yourself!
  • Clean your house. Cleaning is very therapeutic, and having a clean home will automatically make you feel better about yourself.
  • Change your environment by going for a walk, a drive, or going to the gym.
  • Plan a vacation.
  • Visit with an old friend.
  • And the best mood shifter of all: eat a reasonable portion of dark chocolate. Dark chocolate boosts serotonin and endorphin levels in the brain. However, if your sour disposition has anything to do with body image issues, I do not recommend this mood shifter for you.

Wallowing in your bad mood will NOT improve it. You have the power to change your mood yourself. I know that it comes easier to me than most people because I have very optimistic parents, but that does not negate the fact that you can control your mood. Think about it this way: if you are not going to control your mood, who will?

All of my love,

~Amber

Comments on: "Daddy’s Little Girl" (2)

  1. Love this. And yes, you are probably the most optimistic person I’ve ever met. It’s refreshing!

Comments? Suggestions?

