The Fast, Part I

Dum Dum Dum!  Today I begin a juice and water fast for my yoga teacher training at Charm City Yoga.  I have never fasted before.  This is due to the fact that I am always hungry, and when I do not eat, I get light-headed, and, well, cranky.  My friends say that I get “hangry”, which is a crossbreed of angry and hungry.  I solely act this way when I am deprived of food.  I swear I am a nice person otherwise!  🙂

In our teacher training, we read a book called “Conscious Eating” by Gabriel Cousens, M.D.  Dr. Cousens is an advocate of fasting as a way to maintain health.  Here is an excerpt from the book:

“…[O]n the physiological level, fasting works by rapidly removing dead and dying cells and toxins.  Aging occurs when we have more cells die than are being built.  ‘Youthing’ happens when more new cells are produced than are dying.”

Furthermore, Dr. Cousens discusses a process called autolysis, where the body digests its own cells.  After 2-3 days of fasting, the body begins to decompose dead, dying or unhealthy cells first before it touches healthy cells.  Meaning after the autolysis process is complete, the body becomes more healthy.

A lot of people do not fast because of the fear of being hungry.  I will admit that I have not fasted yet for the same reason.  Even yesterday, I experienced some worries about the discomfort.  I reminded myself that I would be fine, and that going through this process is beneficial for my body.  Furthermore, I reminded myself that when faced with a challenge, I like to attempt the challenge in order to test my own inner strength.  Now the fast is by no means required by my teacher training, but I feel strongly that this will be a beneficial experience for my mind, my body, and my will power.

Stay tuned, folks.  I will tell you how the process went tomorrow and the next day.

Wish me luck,

~Amber

Comments? Suggestions?

