Up In The Air

Yesterday, I took my first Air Yoga class. Air Yoga can also be called Aerial Yoga or AntiGravity Yoga. In Air Yoga, there are no mats. You perform all asanas, or the physical postures, on hammocks suspended from the ceiling. The hammocks swing constantly, of course, but when you sit or lie down in them, they completely support every curve of your body.

Aerial Yoga

Because of the constant movement of the hammocks, Air Yoga classes require a significant amount of trust both in your instructor and in yourself. It can be scary to be suspended in the air, not knowing if you are going to fall.

There is a trick I learned through my yoga practice to overcome fear. When I want to learn something new, I need to just act and not let my mind get in my way. Often, when we are trying something we have never done before, our history will resonate in our minds preceding the thoughts of our action.

When I instruct my students to try a posture they have never done before, like Bakasana, Crane Pose, or Utthita Padmasana, Elevated Lotus Pose, I encourage them not to think. “Clear your mind and exhale completely”, I say to them, “and on the inhale just try it. Don’t think; just act.”

Do you have any situations where you let your history impede your progress? Do you constantly say to yourself “I can’t do that” before you even try? What story is preventing you from flying high, like in an Air Yoga class?

Your sense of confidence does not have to be up in the air. Today, you can decide to try the action before you say to yourself that you cannot do it. When I was growing up, the word “can’t” was forbidden by my parents. I would like to invite you to try stricken that word from your vocabulary today.

What can you accomplish by not telling yourself “I can’t”? Trust your instincts and just try the action before you tell yourself that you cannot do it. See how high you can soar. You might just surprise yourself!

With love,

~Amber

Comments on: "Up In The Air" (3)

  1. WOAH My friend Amber can levitate… O_o

  2. […] an Aerial Yoga class, also called anti-gravity, you perform the poses using hammocks suspended from the ceiling. The hammocks swing constantly, of course, but when you sit or lie down in them, they completely […]

Comments? Suggestions?

