Take Rest

Last week I practiced yoga every day, and I taught 5 classes. It should come to no one’s surprise that yesterday, I crashed hard. I mean, my mental and physical energy levels were kaput.

It is important to pay attention to your body and your mind. Both require rest. I do not advise pushing through exhaustion.

Paradoxically, the yoga community can attract competitive people. Let’s face it, many of the asanas, or postures, are pretty outrageous. There are headstands and handstands and forearm balances galore, and some feel inferior if they cannot accomplish those postures.

Yoga is not about how well you perform the postures. Yoga is about how calm you can keep the mind and the body no matter the circumstances.

When I teach a yoga class, I make sure to express the importance of listening to your body and your mind. If you need a rest, please take it. The wise yogi rests when she or he needs it. To push through a yoga practice if your body is fatigued is both unwise and unyogic.

The same wisdom applies to pushing through life without proper rest. With a day of rest, or momentary rest in your yoga practice, you can bask in your hard work. Knowledge and awareness happen during the rest, more so than during the work. Without that reflection, what is the point of the hard work?

“Take rest; a field that has rested gives a bountiful crop.” ~Ovid

With love,

~Amber

Balasana - Child's Pose, a resting posture

Comments on: "Take Rest" (5)

  1. I love it! Great minds DO think alike. I’m planning a post later this week about the importance of taking care of yourself. It really makes so much difference. If we can’t take care of our selves, then we can’t possibly give our best to others.

  2. […] I posted about resting when your body needed rest. In this case, my friend did not need mental or physical rest, she just […]

  3. Restfulness must be the theme of the week, I just wrote a post on this too! It will be up on monday. Take care of yourself Ms Amber!

Comments? Suggestions?

