Mrs. Brightside

What’s your complaint factor? What I mean is how often do you complain either out loud or to yourself? Does it make you feel better to complain? I would highly doubt it. I would assume that complaining just makes you more upset over the things you have in your life to complain about.

There is nothing wrong with acknowledging to yourself, or your close friends, that you are displeased with something. However, whining, moaning, and complaining are not a productive use of your time. These are all very negative expressions of your emotions. Gossip, jealousy, and casting judgment would fall into this category as well.

Verbal expressions of negativity perpetuate more negative thinking. In essence, complaining gives you more things in your life to complain about. An alternative would be to accept what you want to change, but focus on the positive ways that you have within your power to change your situation.

Going even further, it is important to express gratitude for the wonderful things that you have in your life, otherwise known as focusing on the bright side. Just as negativity begets negativity, gratitude brings more things into your life to be grateful for.

I am a big believer in staying positive. Why? Because the alternative just is not any fun. I do not enjoy feeling bad. I do not enjoy how complaining makes me feel:  helpless, upset, and angry. More importantly, I think complaining is selfish because there is always someone out there worse off than me.  To complain about my situation is to disrespect their struggle.

I love to feel good. You could say I am an endorphin junkie. Positive thinking releases endorphins, the feel good hormones. I have lived on the dark side of negative thinking. I used to let my negative emotions control my life. I learned that there is a better way, and I am sharing these words out of experience.

Being happy is completely possible, and totally under your control. Today, just take baby steps. If you find something that you want to complain about, acknowledge it, but with the very next thought, be grateful for something. I encourage you to try this as much as you possibly can today. Then, notice if you do not feel a little bit better today than you did the day before.

Also, try to do something today that makes you happy: call a dear friend; remind your partner that you love him/her and why; give someone a compliment or a gift for no reason other than it makes you feel good; make a small donation; or take a group fitness or a yoga class. Life is short, friends. I would much rather enjoy it than to waste it.

How do you want to live today, happy or miserable? The choice is yours!

With gratitude,

~Amber

Jealousy, turning saints into the sea
Swimming through sick lullabies
Choking on your alibis

But it’s just the price I pay
Destiny is calling me
Open up my eager eyes
Cause I’m Mr. Brightside

-The Killers

Comments on: "Mrs. Brightside" (4)

  1. Happiness is a choice, not a birthright! Great post, Amber! You have an amazing spirit and it shows with every word you write. Right on! : )

    • Thank you so much for reading, Shamim! I am grateful. And you are right, happiness is a choice, not a birthright. Perhaps it’s a part of our culture to think that happiness should just happen to us, instead of working for it. Maybe that’s why we fall into the trap of complaining so easily. Thank you for the food for thought! I can’t wait to take your yoga classes! When are you teaching?

  2. Well who doesn’t love a Killers quote?? ;o)

    Love you Ambie Pamby!!! :o)

Comments? Suggestions?

