Forgive, But Never Forget

As you know, today is the 10 year anniversary of 9/11/2001. 9/11 is a day no one in this country will ever forget. For me personally, it truly was the worst day of my life. Never in my life have I been so scared, so sad, so angry, and so disillusioned as that Tuesday in September ten years ago.

I remember exactly what I was doing when it happened. I was in college, but I worked on Tuesdays instead of having classes. I turned on the television as I was making my breakfast. The Today Show was on in the background. I had my back turned when Matt Lauer announced the attack.

I was glued to my television over the next 3 hours, until I had to show up for work. I watched both towers fall. Before that, I witnessed people plummeting to their deaths to escape the inferno. Never again do I wish for this country, or any country for that matter, to experience such a horrific tragedy.

Of course, we do not live in a utopia. There have been hundreds of other tragedies over the last 10 years.

The purpose of this blog post today is not to dwell on the sorrow we experienced collectively 10 years ago. Nor is the point to reminisce any subsequent or previous tragedies.

Never forget your past; it is an essential part of your history. But, at the same time, please remember that it is imperative that you forgive any transgressions you may have experienced.

Forgiveness is crucial to living a happy and healthy life. Grudges are toxic. Negative emotions stimulate the release of stress hormones that, in excess, poison the body.

Whether the situation is a personal tragedy, a national tragedy, or a universal one, the power of the negative emotions over your body are the same. I understand that what I am asking you to do may be difficult. Certainly, it will take time. However, it is necessary that you forgive so that any tragedy you experience does not control your life.

Today, let us celebrate the lives of everyone who was a part of September 11, 2001, including every service man and woman, every first responder, and every casualty both foreign and national. The best way to honor their memories, in my humble opinion, would be to dedicate their sacrifice to bringing more peace into this world and into your personal life.

“Jesus said, ‘Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.'” -Luke 23:34

“The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong.” -Mahatma Gandhi

“Good-nature and good-sense must ever join;
To err is human, to forgive, divine.” -Alexander Pope, An Essay on Criticism

“Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.” -Buddha

“Forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive them that trespass against us.” -The Lord’s Prayer

Lovingly yours,

~Amber

Comments on: "Forgive, But Never Forget" (1)

  1. Good Morning….A very well written article..and so very true. Grudges will eat you alive…we can forgive…we must forgive…but never forget..

    May your day be blessed and keep up the wonderful work you are doing..such an inspiration to many…

    Love Missy

Comments? Suggestions?

