A-Ha Moment

The knowledge I have learned, which I share with you on this blog, does not just benefit me. I share it because I truly believe that it can work for anyone.

A friend of mine, Sarah, contacted me last week to tell me that she had her spiritual “A-Ha Moment”. She was disturbed by the way her friend was acting. This disturbance was becoming a nuisance.

Then, as if a light had been turned on for her, she realized she had a choice. She did not have to suffer with worry.


Instead, Sarah realized that if her friend was misbehaving, it did not have to affect her happiness. Sarah had a choice to be happy anyway!

I asked Sarah to share her story with you as evidence that what I am sharing with you does work.

Remember, what I am sharing is information I have learned, not information I divined. This blog is a way for me to pay it forward because I have discovered a great deal of joy from this information.

My A-ha Moment

“Most of us have been socializing and making friends since we were in the sandbox. As we get older, these friendships deepen and take on a more important role, and we experience the love and support from these wonderful people who’ve entered our lives, and hopefully do so for many years. Unfortunately, sometimes these friendships dissolve over something you never thought would be a catalyst for ending a relationship, and you’re left feeling rejected and pretty much in shock.

That’s what happened to me recently. I’d been going through a difficult situation with someone who I thought was a close friend (perhaps a former friend now). I acknowledged my part in the misunderstanding, tried to talk to my friend about it, apologized, and because you can’t force someone to stay in your life, finally decided to accept her apparent choice of not wanting to communicate with me and move on.

However, after a several days it was still bugging me.  Certain questions wouldn’t stop crossing my mind:  Why won’t she just openly talk to me about this? Is she telling me the truth?  Do I even believe her? Why is she acting like this? How can a friendship work if one person doesn’t trust the other? If she contacts me in the future, how will I feel? Will I be open to working on this friendship by then?

It’s not hard to believe that at this point I was starting to feel pretty nutty. I was also feeling resentful of the time I was spending dwelling on this negativity that I couldn’t control and angry at myself for doing so.

Then it happened, and right when I didn’t even expect it. I was driving home from work, aforementioned questions and then some swirling around in my weary brain. Out of nowhere my negatively inquisitive train of thought stopped, and I thought of something I’d heard a couple days earlier on a podcast I regularly listen to.

The podcaster, comedian/actor and all-around nice guy with a positive attitude Larry Miller, had related a story in which he cartoonishly spilled several cups of coffee in a crazy uncontrollable domino effect that morning at his neighborhood Starbucks. He had walked in expecting only to pick up the usual order for his wife and himself, but left wet, inconvenienced, and feeling the sting of embarrassment. However, instead of getting upset, he simply said – and I’m paraphrasing – ‘Why get upset?  You know, the way I see it – We’re all lucky just to be in the coffee shop. . .just to be anywhere.’ And I thought, ‘Yeah, we are all just lucky to be in the coffee shop or anywhere.’

At that moment everything I’d been mulling over just seemed like a colossal waste of time and didn’t seem to matter. In its place my head was filled with the realization that I had my health, amazingly supportive family and friends, a great partner, and a clear head to figure out what I wanted and set those goals and achieve them. For the first time in my life I truly felt grateful.

I thought I knew that feeling before, but I was wrong. I’d always understood on an intellectual level everything that Amber had been telling me about the importance of positivity and choosing to be happy and having a good attitude, but I finally got it.

It was like a light bulb that had been turned off for thirty years had just suddenly turned on or as Amber put it, I ‘popped my spiritual bottle of champagne’. 🙂 It was my a-ha moment.

It’s more than an understanding. It’s a feeling. Yeah, I took my sweet time getting there, and not only am I okay with that, but I couldn’t be more grateful.

Bсего хорошего (everything good),

Sarah”

Way to go, Sarah!

Is there an A-Ha Moment you would like to share? I would love to hear it! Please feel free to comment.

Finally, let me share that Audrey Hepburn’s thoughts on positive thinking. No one said it quite like Audrey did:

“I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.” -Audrey Hepburn

Male or female, happiness does make you more attractive, inside and out!

Love,

~Amber

Comments on: "A-Ha Moment" (3)

  1. I loved this “A-Ha Moment” but —- sometimes these moments seem to take hours getting here but those hours can be turned into positive, constructive thinking and that makes me feel good also. Love Gran

  2. […] my friend Sarah alluded to in yesterday’s post, instead of mulling over what you do not have, try being grateful for what you do […]

Comments? Suggestions?

