Slow Your Roll

Yesterday, I saw more than average amount of people pulled over by police officers. I watched a car get pulled because of speeding. The rest, I assume, were pulled over for speeding, too.

This will upset my grandmother, but I have to confess that I do speed. I drive over the speed limit, but I do not drive recklessly. I speed because I am in the car over 2 hours every day. It is a means to get me to my destination on time.

However, because I saw an inordinate number of police officers yesterday, I am taking it as a sign that I need to slow my roll.

Sometimes when we notice something recurring in our lives, there is something there we need to pay attention to.

Clearly, I need to slow down when I am driving, or I am liable to get a ticket. This is going to require me to break some bad habits.

Breaking Bad Habits

Breaking bad habits requires awareness of the present moment. We acquire bad habits by not thinking about our actions and by operating on autopilot.

What I need to do in my situation is to actively pay attention to my speed to make sure I am within speed limit (OK, at least only a few miles over the speed limit, or so:)).

Do you have any bad habits you need to break? If so, the trick, as it is in my case, is to pay attention.

That is easier said than done, but it can happen. For example, every time I notice that I am speeding excessively, I need to acknowledge to myself that this is a bad habit I want to break.

The more I consciously acknowledge that I need to change my habits, the faster I will bring change into my life.

So, I admitted it publicly. I need to drive slower. There. I said it. Now with constant repetition, and with more awareness of the speed limit, my habits will change.

Stop And Smell The Roses

Have you noticed any places in your life where you need to slow your roll? Remember slowing down does not just refer to driving. It can also mean to stop and smell the roses.

Our society is fast-paced. Sometimes we are so focused on the end results that we forget to enjoy the moment. I will go into more detail about savoring the flavor in tomorrow’s post.

Today, just notice if there are any places in your life where you need to slow down, and if there are any bad habits you notice you need to change.

With love,

~Amber

Comments? Suggestions?

