One Step At A Time

All seemingly insurmountable tasks are accomplished the same way: one foot in front of the other, one step at a time.

A lot of people ask me how I get through my incredibly long days. Most days I start at 4:45 am, and do not get home until after 8:30 pm, sometimes after 9 pm.

I get through my very long days one step at a time.

Focus On The Moment

I used to suffer from anxiety. I would constantly worry about all the tasks that I had to complete and I would let that worry overwhelm me and make me feel like I was drowning.

I am here to tell you that letting worry overwhelm you is not an effective strategy to accomplish your goals.

Yoga taught me to breathe deeply and to focus on the moment.

I often tell myself: “the future will unfold itself, and I will deal with the future when it happens. Right now, I need to focus on the task right here in front of me.”

By focusing only on what is happening before my very eyes, yoga cured me of anxiety.

And Enjoy The Moment

Moreover, I am much happier when I live in the moment. My very long days also could not be done if I did not enjoy what I was doing.

A very effective motivational tool for me is to make what I am doing enjoyable, because I cannot complete anything unless I am having fun.

If the task you need to complete is not enjoyable, try making a game out of it. Reward yourself after you get so much work done, or time yourself in intervals to see if you can keep beating your time.

Because Life Happens In The Now

Your life happens in the present moment. The past has already occurred, and the future has not happened yet.

Be alive and aware of what is happening around you in the present moment. Focus on one task at a time, one moment at a time, one breath at a time.

I guarantee by doing so, your mind will be calm and you will feel much better about your ability to accomplish a difficult goal.

Love,

~Amber

Source

Comments on: "One Step At A Time" (2)

  1. This clearly shows the power of the now, and living in the moment, I really do enjoy reading you!

Comments? Suggestions?

