More Than You Can Chew

Apologies for not posting last week. Last month, I more than doubled my teaching schedule, on top of working a full-time job.
I am very careful not to stretch myself too thin. I have done that before and it makes living a balanced, healthy life impossible.

Have you found yourself becoming stretched too thin before? Perhaps you are presently feeling overtaxed. Below are reasons to reconsider taking on more than you can handle.

How Stress Affects Health

Our bodies become susceptible to illness and disease when we put too much pressure on ourselves. It is crucial to our health to make sure we have room to fit our responsibilities into our day without feeling overwhelmed.

Too much stress is toxic to the body. When the body is under stress, certain hormones are released into our bodies that increase heart rate, blood pressure, and blood sugar. Having those bodily functions elevated over prolonged periods leads to poor health.

Chronic stress makes us more susceptible to picking up colds and flus because it lowers our immune system. Chronic stress also leads to the following conditions.

  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Diabetes
  • Obesity
  • Heart disease
  • High blood pressure
  • Skin breakouts, including acne

This list is not all-inclusive, but it does make stress relief demonstrate how important it is to live a calm life instead of being constantly stressed out.

Stress Reduction

Many doctors recommend yoga for stress reduction, and for conditions that flare up under stress, such as lupus.

Yoga and breathing techniques are wonderful stress reducers. Another thing that I highly recommend is prioritizing responsibilities and only accepting reasonable amounts of duties in one day.

Think of it this way. When we bite off more than we can chew, no one individual responsibility can possibly be done well because we get overwhelmed.

Fitting It All In

That being said, until my schedule changes, I will only be able to guarantee to post to this blog on Mondays. If my schedule allows for more writing, I will post more. But working a full-time job with a commute, and teaching 8 classes a week does not allow much room for writing.

I have heard disappointment from some that they missed the daily posts last week. For that, I apologize. However, I cannot let my health, my writing, or my yoga teaching suffer by taking on too many duties in one day.

Thank you for understanding and thank you for reading. I do hope to get back to posting more frequently as soon as my schedule allows for it.

Peace and stress release,

~Amber

Comments on: "More Than You Can Chew" (2)

  1. I can relate. Sometimes you have to make compromises in order to ensure you’re giving your all to all the things you do. And look at it this way, the posts you do write will be that much more anticipated! 🙂

Comments? Suggestions?

