Dealing with Disappointment

If there is one thing for sure in this life, it is that we do not always get our way. How do you deal with disappointment? Do you sulk? Do you whine? Do you complain?

Me? I used to do all of that too, but after a lot of interpersonal work, I say, “Oh well. It happens.” I learned that disappointment is just a part of life that we have to deal with. To live a successful life, it is imperative to adapt to disappointment.

I suggest that you avoid getting really angry. I encourage you instead to remember that it is OK not to get what you want if you allow it to become an opportunity to grow and to expand your conscious awareness. What I mean by that when we are disappointed, we are given a chance to realize what is really important in life.

Here is what I consider to be the really important things in life:

  • That you have enough healthy food to eat.
  • That you have shelter.
  • That you have loved ones to be grateful for.
  • That you are happy with yourself and with your life.

Beyond that, everything else is just gravy, and we can still eat our meal without gravy. Be grateful for your blessings, as that gratitude will make room in your life for more things to be grateful for.

Not getting your way could be the most important thing to happen to you, because perhaps that situation was not right for you. When I look back at things that were once considered disappointing in my life, I realize the subsequent events that would not have occurred if I had gotten what I wanted initially.

Every moment in your life is an opportunity to be happy no matter the circumstances. That is the true path of the yogi. Being grateful for your blessings no matter what will allow you to feel happiness more often than sorrow.

Happiness is a choice. What will you choose today?

We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.
Martin Luther King, Jr.

Lovingly yours,

~Amber

Please click the picture to vote for me to win the Most Valuable Blogger in Baltimore award. I’m a finalist in the Health, Medicine & Fitness Category.
Thank you!

Comments on: "Dealing with Disappointment" (2)

  1. This is good Amber…Im currently disappointed because I was just laid off on Tuesday. This is the second time in 2 years I have been laid off…I know thhere are many others struggling but do u have ne advice for how to get thru/deal with a layoff?

    thanks.

    • Chin up, Jade! Remember, you were not fired, you were laid off. That does not mean your work is not good. Your work is amazing and you getting laid off is economy related. Know that you’re the bomb, because you are. Confidence will get you a new job in no time. Believe in yourself, apply for unemployment, and apply for jobs every day. Know deep down in your heart that the right job is waiting for you.

      I remember being laid off in 2007 because of the economy. I panicked. But I ended up being really happy that I did not work there anymore. Sometimes what may initially be perceived as disappointment is just the Universe or God–or whatever name you prefer–making room in your life for something even better to come along. Breath deeply, and remain confident. Everything is going to be alright!

Comments? Suggestions?